Saturday, 20. November 2010
Dirty underwear somewhere?
After the disaster from the last time, I tried to do everything right this time. The good thing is, i did not end up in prison, like the last time. The bad thing is, it took almost as long as three years ago.

After a fantastic breakfast with the californian angel, her husband and the cutest little american boy I´ve ever seen, I went to the airport to return the car. The drop off fee I had to pay. They didn´t even want to discuss.
The american immigration officiers were this time very nice. Maybe it was because I was not travelling with a muslim?! However I had the great honour to experience a body scanner. Not sure if they have stripped me on their monitor.
I also had the great luck to travel with Delta. OMG. If you have ever travelled with Ryanair, then you can imagine how this 11 hour flight felt like.
But I was lucky. I had one the first seats in the economy class and therefore I was out of the plane almost immediately. I made my way to the japanese immigration office and guess what, I was the 3rd person in the lane. Then I was turned back, because my immigration form was filled with a red pen. Japanese immigration likes black. So I had to refill everything. When I was finished, at least 50 persons had queued up. So I had to wait and wait and wait.
I picked up my luggage and merged the two bags, which I split before, to avoid excess luggage, into one.It was quiet hard, because I had to remove almost everything from the big bag to get my sleeping bag and the therm-a-rest into the right position.
The next big step, was to go through the customs. I had the choice between an ugly man, who made two girls to unpack everything, and two other nice looking young ladies. Ok, I went to one of the ladies. She was impressed, that I could understand her question, although I didn´t answer them in japanese. But I guess this made me suspicious. When she then recognized that I departed from SanFran, as a german citizen, she made me to unpack e-v-e-r-y little thing. Of course the check was done very quickly. I didn´t even had dirty underwear in there. But the packaging again took ages. She then felt sorry with me and started to sort my pants into the bag, but when it came to the sleeping bag she withdraw. She called for backup, so another guy came over to help me to get the bag closed again, which was a hard job. If everything is packed well it´s easy, but not if a japanese woman inspects your underwear.
I finally made it through there as well and ended up in the arrival lobby of the airport. Eventually I also found the cashmachine and purchased a ticket for the skyliner.
When I figured out that the skyliner even has a power socket at every seat, I was brave, a real hero so to say, opened my laptop and started to type. Until I saw the perfect possibility for a selfportrait with a japanese couple.
selfportrait with japanese couple

... comment